application. The agenda was adopted accordingly, with the application of Mongolia being taken up before that of Mauritania.

The representative of the USSR, commending Mongolia's social, economic and cultural progress, its expanded diplomatic relations and its peace-loving foreign policy, proposed a draft resolution whereby the Council would recommend that the Assembly admit the Mongolian People's Republic to membership.

Ceylon, Chile, Ecuador, France, Liberia, Turkey, the United Arab Republic and the United Kingdom expressed support for this proposal.

The United States representative stated that, for well-known reasons, the United States would not obstruct Mongolia's admission. Accordingly, he would abstain in the vote, out of respect for the view expressed by the General Assembly on 19 April 1961 that Mongolia was qualified for membership. The representative of China announced that he would not participate in the vote on the Mongolia's application, so that no pretext might be used to delay Mauritania's admission still further, despite his delegation's conviction that Mongolia was still a USSR colony.

France and Liberia introduced a draft resolution recommending the admission of Mauritania to membership in the United Nations. They maintained that Mauritania enjoyed all attributes of statehood and had the full capacity to fulfil its obligations to its citizens and the world community. It had been formally recognized by 65 States, belonged to a number of the specialized agencies and was a peace-loving State fully qualified for membership under the terms of the United Nations Charter.

This draft resolution was supported by Ceylon, Chile, China, Ecuador, Turkey, the United Kingdom and the United States, and also by the Ivory Coast and Senegal, the representatives of which had been invited, pursuant to their requests, to participate in the discussion.

The representative of Morocco, who had also been invited to take part in the debate, charged that the admission of Mauritania would constitute a most dangerous precedent by amputating a part of the territory of Morocco. Drawing attention to the historic, ethnic, political and linguistic ties which bound Morocco and Mauritania together, he charged that Morocco's unity had been disrupted by colonialist machinations through which the French hoped to dominate the territory, gain strategic bases and exploit its mineral riches.

Supporting these arguments, the representative of the United Arab Republic said that he would not be able to vote in favour of the admission of Mauritania. He hoped, however, that the problem would be resolved in accordance with everybody's interests. The representative of the USSR, taking note of the arguments expressed by the representative of Morocco, but also favouring the granting of even incomplete independence to a colony, stated that he would abstain in the vote.

On 25 October 1961, the Council voted on the two resolutions. It first adopted the USSR text recommending Mongolia's admission to United Nations membership by 9 votes to 0, with 1 abstention (United States); China did not participate in the voting. The text recommending Mauritania's admission was then adopted by 9 votes to 1 (United Arab Republic), with 1 abstention (USSR).

## CONSIDERATION BY ASSEMBLY

The General Assembly considered the Security Council's recommendations on 27 October.

By acclamation, it adopted on that day a resolution (1630 (XVI)) admitting the Mongolian People's Republic to membership in the United Nations. The resolution was sponsored by Albania, Afghanistan, the Byelorussian SSR, Bulgaria, Burma, Cambodia, Ceylon, Cuba, Czechoslovakia, Ghana, Guinea, Hungary, India, Indonesia, Iraq, Mali, Nepal, Poland, Romania, the Ukrainian SSR, the USSR, the United Arab Republic and Yugoslavia. China did not participate in the voting.

Also approved by the Assembly on 27 October 1961, by a roll-call vote of 68 to 13, with 20 abstentions, was a resolution (1631(XVI)) admitting the Islamic Republic of Mauritania to membership in the United Nations. The resolution was sponsored by Cameroun, the Central African Republic, Chad, Congo (Brazzaville), Dahomey, France, Gabon, Ivory Coast, Liberia, Madagascar, Niger, Nigeria, Senegal and Upper Volta.

Morocco reiterated its opposition to the ad-