Portuguese administration, the Seychelles, St. Helena, Ifni and Spanish Sahara, Gibraltar, French Somaliland, Fiji, Oman, the Gilbert and Ellice Islands, Pitcairn, the Solomon Islands, Niue, the Tokelau Islands, the New Hebrides, Guam, American Samoa, the Trust Territory of the Pacific Islands, Papua and the Trust Territory of New Guinea, the Cocos (Keeling) Islands, Brunei, Hong Kong, Antigua, Dominica, Grenada, St. Kitts-Nevis-Anguilla, St. Lucia, St. Vincent, the United States Virgin Islands, Bermuda, the Bahamas, the Turks and Caicos Islands, the Cayman Islands, Montserrat, the British Virgin Islands, the Falkland Islands (Malvinas) and British Honduras.

The Special Committee also continued to study several special questions, namely: the activities of foreign economic and other interests in Southern Rhodesia, Namibia and the territories under Portuguese administration and all other territories under colonial domination, and efforts to eliminate colonialism, apartheid and racial discrimination in southern Africa (see below, pp. 641-42); the question of the implementation of the Declaration by the specialized agencies and international institutions associated with the United Nations (see below pp. 635-37); the question of military activities and arrangements by colonial powers in territories under their administration (see below pp. 629-31); and the question of sending visiting missions to the territories (see below, pp. 631-34).

In addition, the Special Committee continued to study the information on non-self-governing territories transmitted under Article 73e of the United Nations Charter (see below, pp. 713-15).

To facilitate the work of the Special Committee, consideration of the territories was again divided among several sub-committees. As in previous years, Sub-Committee I was responsible for the Seychelles and St. Helena and for the special economic and military studies; Sub-Committee II for the Pacific territories; and Sub-Committee III for territories in the Caribbean. The Sub-Committees on Fiji and Oman were also maintained. During 1969, the Sub-Committee on Petitions considered 117 communications, 109 of which it decided to circulate as petitions. These petitions included

18 requests for hearings which were recommended to the Special Committee for approval.

The Special Committee held a further series of meetings away from United Nations Head-quarters during May. These meetings took place at: Kinshasa, Democratic Republic of the Congo; Lusaka, Zambia; and Dar-es-Salaam, United Republic of Tanzania. Representatives of the national liberation movements who addressed the Special Committee at these meetings furnished information on the situation in southern Africa.

In its report to the 1969 session of the General Assembly, the Special Committee noted that Mauritius, Swaziland and Equatorial Guinea had attained independence; that agreement had been reached between the Governments of Spain and Morocco regarding the future of the territory of Ifni; and that some constitutional progress had been achieved in certain of the dependent territories. The majority of Committee members nevertheless felt that the complete achievement of the goals laid down for colonial peoples in the United Nations Charter and in the Declaration on the Granting of Independence to Colonial Countries and Peoples had been delayed and that, in regard to several territories, it was far from early or peaceful realization. In particular, several members felt that the problems afflicting southern Africa represented the most serious challenge to the collective will of the United Nations to eliminate the last vestiges of colonial rule.

The Special Committee gave particular attention to the small territories, as requested by the General Assembly. The majority of Committee members felt that owing to inaction on the part of the administering powers, little significant progress had been made towards full participation by the indigenous inhabitants in the management of their own affairs. Despite the problems unique to small territories, such as population and the prospects for economic viability, the peoples concerned remained

⁴The new designation of the territory is "French Territory of the Afars and the Issas." This designation was introduced in United Nations terminology as from 15 April 1968, at the request of the administering power.