upheld the application of the principle of selfdetermination and considered the wishes of the indigenous population as decisive. Spain's sole objective, he said, was to give the inhabitants of the territory an opportunity, by exercising their right to self-determination, to decide to have a Government of their own if they so desired.

During the discussion, Algeria, Ghana, Syria and Yemen urged Spain to give the people of the territory an opportunity to exercise their right to self-determination. The representative of Algeria added that interference by outside financial interests would be incompatible with the rights of the people concerned and that care should be taken to prevent such interference.

On 16 December 1969, at a plenary meeting, the General Assembly, inter alia, reaffirmed the inalienable right of the people of the socalled Spanish Sahara to self-determination in accordance with its Declaration of 14 December 1960 on granting independence to colonial countries and peoples.<sup>29</sup> It regretted that it had not been possible for the consultations to take place which the administering power was to conduct in connexion with the holding of a referendum in the territory.

The Assembly again invited the administering power to determine at the earliest possible date, in conformity with the aspirations of the indigenous people of the territory and in consultation with the Governments of Mauritania and Morocco and any other interested party, the procedures for the holding of a referendum with a view to enabling the indigenous population to exercise freely its right to self-determination. To this end, the Assembly invited the administering power to create a favourable climate for the referendum, to take all the necessary steps to ensure that only the indigenous people of the territory participated in it, to comply with the resolutions of the Assembly on the activities of foreign interests operating in colonial countries, and to provide the necessary facilities to a United Nations mission so that it might be able to participate actively in the organization and holding of the referendum.

Finally, the Assembly requested the Secretary-General to appoint a special mission and to expedite its dispatch to the to-called Spanish Sahara, and it requested its Special Committee to continue its consideration of the question.

These decisions were embodied in resolution 2591 (XXIV), adopted by a recorded vote of 110 to O, with 5 abstentions, on the recommendation of the Assembly's Fourth Committee. The Fourth Committee had approved the text on 9 December 1969, by a roll-call vote of 89 to O, with 7 abstentions, on a proposal by Ghana, Iraq, Mali, Pakistan, Saudi Arabia, Senegal, Syria, Tunisia and Yugoslavia. (For text of resolution, see DOCUMENTARY REFERENCES below.)

<sup>29</sup> See footnote 21.

## DOCUMENTARY REFERENCES

CONSIDERATION BY

SPECIAL COMMITTEE

Special Committee on Situation with regard to Implementation of Declaration on Granting of Independence to Colonial Countries and Peoples, meetings 659, 668, 670, 695, 715, 724.

## CONSIDERATION BY GENERAL ASSEMBLY

GENERAL ASSEMBLY-24-TH SESSION

Fourth Committee, meetings 1842, 1844, 1850, 1851, 1853-1855, 1857-1859, 1862, 1864-1866. Fifth Committee, meeting 1348.

Plenary Meeting 1835.

A/7623/Rev.l. Report of Special Committee (covering its work during 1969), Chapter X.

## IFNI

A/7896. Report of Fourth Committee, para. 29.

A/7630. Resolutions adopted by General Assembly during its 24th session, 16 September-17 December 1969. Other decisions, p. 75.

SPANISH SAHARA

A/C.4/L.948 and Add.1,2. Ghana, Iraq, Mali, Pakistan, Saudi Arabia, Senegal, Syria, Tunisia, Yugoslavia: draft resolution, approved by Fourth Committee on 9 December 1969, meeting 1866, by rollcall vote of 89 to O, with 7 abstentions, as follows:

In favour: Afghanistan, Algeria, Argentina, Austria, Belgium, Brazil, Bulgaria, Burma, Burundi, Byelorussian SSR, Cambodia, Cameroon, Canada, Central African Republic, Ceylon, Chile, China, Colombia, Democratic Republic of Congo, Cuba, Czechoslovakia, Dahomey, Denmark, Ecuador, Equatorial Guinea, Ethiopia, Finland, Ghana, Greece, Guatemala, Hungary, Indonesia, Iran, Iraq, Ireland, Israel, Italy, Ivory Coast, Japan, Kenya,