environment. The Assembly established the Governing Council of the United Nations Environment Programme; an environment secretariat, headed by the Executive Director of the United Nations Environment Programme; the Environment Fund; and the Environment Co-ordination Board. It decided to locate the environment secretariat in Nairobi, Kenya.

The Assembly designated 5 June of each year

as World Environment Day. It also took decisions on the following matters: co-operation between States, and the international responsibility of States, in environmental questions; measures to enhance and protect the environment; development and the environment; and questions pertaining to human settlements.

Details of these and other actions are described in the sections below.

## United Nations Conference on the Human Environment

The United Nations Conference on the Human Environment, held in Stockholm, Sweden, from 5 to 16 June 1972, was convened pursuant to a General Assembly decision of 3 December 1968. The Conference was attended by representatives of the following 113 States Members of the United Nations or members of the specialized agencies or the International Atomic Energy Agency:

Afghanistan, Algeria, Argentina, Australia, Austria, Bahrain, Bangladesh, Belgium, Bolivia, Botswana, Brazil, Burundi, Cameroon, Canada, the Central African Republic, Chad, Chile, China, Colombia, the Congo, Costa Rica, Cyprus, Dahomey, Denmark, the Dominican Republic, Ecuador, Egypt, El Salvador, Ethiopia, the Federal Republic of Germany, Fiji, Finland, France, Gabon, Ghana, Greece, Guatemala, Guinea, Guyana, Haiti, the Holy See, Honduras, Iceland, India, Indonesia, Iran, Iraq, Ireland, Israel, Italy, the Ivory Coast, Jamaica, Japan, Jordan, Kenya, Kuwait, Lebanon, Lesotho, Liberia, the Libyan Arab Republic, Liechtenstein, Luxembourg, Madagascar, Malawi, Malaysia, Malta, Mauritania, Mauritius, Mexico, Monaco, Morocco, Nepal, the Netherlands, New Zealand, Nicaragua, Niger, Nigeria, Norway, Pakistan, Panama, Peru, the Philippines, Portugal, the Republic of Korea, the Republic of Viet-Nam, Romania, San Marino, Senegal, Singapore, South Africa, Spain, Sri Lanka, Sudan, Swaziland, Sweden, Switzerland, the Syrian Arab Republic, Thailand, Togo, Trinidad and Tobago, Tunisia, Turkey, Uganda, the United Arab Emirates, the United Kingdom, the United Republic of Tanzania, the United Suites, Uruguay, Venezuela, Yemen, Yugoslavia, Zaire and Zambia.

The USSR and most Eastern European States did not participate on the grounds that the criteria for invitations to the Conference, established by the General Assembly on 20 December 1971, had prevented some countries, among them especially the German Democratic Republic, from participating in the work of the Conference with the same rights accorded to other States. This question was the subject of notes of 2 June 1972 from the Permanent Representative of Hungary to the United Nations, and of 5 June 1972 from the

Permanent Representative of Mongolia, addressed to the Secretary-General.

The Conference was also attended by representatives of various United Nations bodies, of the specialized agencies, the International Atomic Energy Agency and the General Agreement on Tariffs and Trade (GATT), and by observers from inter-governmental and non-governmental organizations.

The Secretary-General of the United Nations was present at the Conference and opened the proceedings.

The Conference established three main committees to study the six substantive items on its agenda. The First Committee was concerned with human settlements and non-economic aspects of environmental questions; the Second Committee, with natural resources management and development; and the Third Committee, with pollutants and organizational questions. The Conference also established a Working Group on the Declaration on the Human Environment.

The Conference elected Ingemund Bengtsson of Sweden as its President, and the representatives of the following 26 States as Vice-Présidents: Algeria, Argentina, Australia, Austria, Canada, China, Egypt, France, Guatemala, India, Iran, Japan, Kuwait, Mexico, Nigeria, Pakistan, Peru, Romania, Senegal, Swaziland, the United Kingdom, the United States, Uruguay, Yugoslavia, Zaire and Zambia.

Keith Johnson of Jamaica was elected Rapporteur-General. The chairmen of the main committees and the Working Group on the Declaration were as follows: First Committee: Helena Benitez (the Philippines); Second Committee: J. Odero Jowi (Kenya); Third Committee: Carlos Calero Rodrigues (Brazil); arid Working Group: Taieb Slim (Tunisia).

<sup>1</sup> See Y.U.N., 1968, pp. 476-77, text of resolution 2398(XXIII). See also Y.U.N., 1969, pp. 389-94; Y.U.N., 1970, pp. 449-52; and Y.U.N., 1971, pp. 307-13, for other Assembly decisions concerning the Conference.

<sup>2</sup> See Y.U.N., 1971, p. 313, text of resolution 2850(XXVI).