Africa 217

SSR, Canada, Cape Verde, Central African Republic, Chad, China, Colombia, Congo, Costa Rica, Cuba. Cyprus, Czechoslovakia, Democratic Kampuchea. Democratic Yemen. Denmark, Djibouti. Dominican Republic, Ecuador, Egypt, El Salvador. Ethiopia. Fiji, Finland, Gabon, Gambia, German Democratic Republic, Ghana, Greece, Grenada, Guinea, Guinea-Bissau, Guyana. Haiti, Honduras, Hungary, Iceland. India, Indonesia. Iran, Iraq. Ireland. Italy. Ivory Coast. Jamaica. Jordan, Kenya, Kuwait. Lao People's Democratic Republic. Lebanon, Lesotho. Liberia, Libyan Arab Jamahirlya. Madagascar, Malaysia, Maldives. Mali, Malta, Mauritania. Mauritius, Mexico. Mongolia, Morocco, Mozambique. Nepal, Netherlands, New Zealand. Nicaragua. Niger. Nigeria. Norway, Omen. Pakistan. Panama, Papua New Guinea, Peru, Philippines, Poland. Portugal, Romania, Rwanda, Saint Lucia, Saint Vincent and the Grenadines. Samoa, Sao Tome end Principe. Saudi Arabia, Senegal. Seychelles. Sierra Leone, Singapore, Solomon Islands. Somalia, Spain, Sri Lanka, Sudan, Suriname, Swaziland, Sweden. Syrian Arab Republic, Thailand, Togo, Trinidad and Tobago, Tunisia, Turkey, Uganda. Ukrainian SSR, USSR. United Arab Emirates, United Republic of Cameroon, United Republic of Tanzania, Upper Volta, Vendruela. Viet Nam, Yemen, Yugoslavia, Zaire, Zambia, Zimbabwe.

Against: United States.

Abstaining: Belgium, Chile, France, Germany, Federal Republic of Guatemala, Japan, Luxembourg, United Kingdom.

Angola and South Africa

Following a series of letters from Angola complaining of armed attacks by South African forces across the Angolan border with Namibia, the Security Council met in August 1981 to consider an Angolan complaint of a large-scale invasion and occupation of the southern part of its territory. Because of a negative vote by a permanent member (the United States) the Council did not adopt a draft resolution condemning South Africa and demanding the withdrawal of its troops. Following further charges by Angola, the General Assembly, on 17 December, demanded the immediate withdrawal of all South African troops. (34)

COMMUNICATIONS (JANUARY-AUGUST). By a letter of 19 January, ⁽⁶⁾ Angola drew the Secretary-General's attention to a series of armed attacks into Cunene and Huila provinces by South African army units and helicopters beginning on 12 January, which had left a number of people dead or wounded. In further letters of 22 January⁽⁷⁾ and 24 February, ⁽⁸⁾ the latter annexing a communique by the Ministry of Defence, Angola indicated that the attacks were continuing.

In a letter of 23 June, (9) Angola charged that more than 95,000 South African troops and mercenaries were in Namibia, ready to invade Angola. On 30 July, (11) Angola stated that an infantry brigade and three battalions of South African troops and mercenaries, supported by aircraft, had carried out a massive invasion. Annexed to an Angolan letter of 25 August (12) was a letter of the same date from the President of Angola, stating that more than 45,000 South African troops were concentrated in the border area and warning that Angola might be forced to resort to Article 51 of the United Nations Charter (on individual and collective self-defence).

To a letter of 26 August⁽¹³⁾ was annexed a communique from the Acting Foreign Minister of Angola describing aerial attacks against the towns of Cahama and Tchibemba—more than 200 and 300 kilometres, respectively, inside Angola's borders-as well as continuing ground attacks near Xangongo and Catequero, 100 and 150 kilometres from the border.

150 kilometres from the border.

On 13 July, (10) Angola transmitted the Declaration on the People's Republic of Angola adopted at Nairobi, Kenya, in June by the Council of Ministers of the Organization of African Unity (OAU), expressing concern about steps by the United States Administration to have the Congress revise existing legislation with a view to giving direct military assistance to groups of Angolan traitors in the pay of the Pretoria regime, and voicing Africa's commitment to stand by Angola for the defence of its sovereignty and territory.

On 26 August, (14) Angola transmitted a letter from its President requesting an urgent meeting of the Security Council to deal with a rapidly deteriorating situation as a result of an attack by three to four brigades of South African troops, supported by aircraft and about 135 tanks, operating more than 100 kilometres inside the border. Angola reiterated its request for a meeting in a letter of 27 August to the Council President. (15)

Letters or notes verbales on this situation were sent to the Secretary-General or the Council President by Spain, on 27 August; (28) China, (21) Egypt (23) and the USSR, (31) on 28 August; Mongolia, on 29 August; and Algeria Botswana (20) and Suriname, (29) on 31 August. They transmitted official statements or communiques condemning South Africa's aggression against Angola, expressing solidarity with the Angolan Government and people, and calling for the immediate withdrawal of South African troops. Algeria called for the immediate imposition of sanctions against South Africa.

In addition, calls for Security Council action were made by the Co-ordinating Bureau of the Movement of Non-Aligned Countries at a 28 August meeting in New York, in a communique annexed to a Cuban letter of 29 August, (22) and by the President of Kenya as current OAU Chairman, in a telegram annexed to a letter from Kenya dated 29 August. (24) The non-aligned countries called on the Council to apply Chapter VII of the Charter.

By a letter of 26 August to the Secretary-General, (2) the Acting Chairman of the Committee against Apartheid transmitted a Committee statement of the same date dealing with various aspects of the South Africa situation (p. 158); with regard to the armed attack against Angola,