Disarmament

for collective self-defence, and hoped that all nuclear and non-nuclear countries would refrain from any action or inaction which might frustrate the objective of a nuclear-weapon-free Africa.

Portugal and the United Kingdom, explaining their abstentions in the vote, cited difficulties with provisions on South Africa (p. 47). A number of States which voted in favour-Argentina, Australia, Austria, Bolivia, Denmark, Finland, Ireland, Japan, Norway, Spain, Sweden and Turkey-expressed general agreement with its main thrust but objected to some language as intemperate or overly polemical. Albania voted in favour but maintained its reservations with regard to nuclear-weapon-free zones.

In the First Committee debate, Chad and Madagascar said that only a treaty on the denuclearization of Africa, whereby African States undertook not to manufacture or acquire nuclear weapons, could guarantee the security of those States, prevent nuclear proliferation and channel the savings to development. Liberia opposed having nuclear weapons of any kind in Africa.

Resolution: ⁽¹⁾GA, 36/86 B, 9 Dec., text following.

Meeting records: GA: 1st Committee, A/C.1/36/PV.3 & Corr.1, 4-10, 12-26, 30. 34. 36-39, 41 (19 Oct.-24 Nov.); plenary, A/36/PV.91 (9 Dec.).

General Assembly resolution 36/86 B

132-0-12 (recorded vote) Meeting 91 9 December 1981 Approved by First Committee (A/36/746) by recorded vote (113-0-11).

- Approved by First Committee (A/36/746) by recorded vote (113-0-11). 24 November (meeting 41): 29-nation draft (A/C.1/36/L.16); agenda item 45.
- Sponsors: Algeria, Angola, Benin, Burundi, Cape Verde, Chad, Congo, Egypt, Ethiopia, Gabon, Ghana, Guinea. Ivory Coast, Kenya, Libyan Arab Jamahiriya, Madagascar, Morocco, Mozambique, Niger, Nigeria, Rwanda, Sao Tome and Principe, Senegal, Sierra Leone, Sudan, Togo, United Republic of Cameroon, Zaire, Zambia.

Implementation of the Declaration

The General Assembly,

Bearing in mind the Declaration on the Denuclearization of Africa adopted by the Assembly of Heads of State and Government of the Organization of African Unity at its first ordinary session, held at Cairo from 17 to 21 July 1964,

Recalling its resolutions 1652(XVI) of 24 November 1961, 32/81 of 12 December 1977, 33/63 of 14 December 1978, 34/76 A of 11 December 1979 and 35/146 B of 12 December 1980, in which it called upon ail States to consider and respect the continent of Africa, comprising the continental African States, Madagascar and other islands surrounding Africa, as a nuclear-weapon-free zone,

Recalling also that in its resolution 33/63 it vigorously condemned any attempt by South Africa to introduce in any way whatsoever nuclear weapons into the continent and demanded that South Africa refrain forthwith from conducting any nuclear explosion in the continent of Africa or elsewhere,

Reaffirming that the nuclear programme of the racist regime of South Africa constitutes a very grave danger to international peace and security and, in particular, jeopardizes the security of African States,

Noting with concern that South Africa has persistently refused to conclude adequate and comprehensive safeguards agreements with the International Atomic Energy Agency with a view to preventing the diversion of nuclear materials from peaceful uses to the manufacture of nuclear weapons and other nuclear explosive devices, Taking note of the report of the Security Council Committee established by resolution 421(1977) concerning the question of South Africa on ways and means of making the mandatory arms embargo against South Africa more effective, in particular its recommendation that all forms of nuclear collaboration with South Africa should cease, and the report of the international Conference on Sanctions against South Africa, held at Paris from 20 to 27 May 1981,

Gravely concerned over the possibility that South Africa has acquired nuclear weapons,

Convinced that the acquisition of such weapons by South Africa would endanger the implementation of the Declaration on the Denuclearization of Africa as well as the maintenance of international peace and security,

Expressing its indignation that certain Western countries and Israel have continued to collaborate with South Africa in the nuclear field despite the risk of proliferation of nuclear weapons which the South African nuclear programme represents,

Recalling its decision taken at the tenth special session, devoted to disarmament, that the Security Council should take appropriate effective steps to prevent the frustration of the decision of the Organization of African Unity for the denuclearization of Africa,

1. Once again reiterates its call upon ail States to consider and respect the continent of Africa, comprising the continental African States, Madagascar and other islands surrounding Africa, as a nuclear-weapon-free zone;

2. Reaffirms that the nuclear programme of the racist regime of South Africa constitutes a very grave danger to international peace and security and, in particular, jeopardizes the security of African States and increases the danger of the proliferation of nuclear weapons;

3. Condemns any form of nuclear collaboration by any State, corporation, institution or individual with the racist regime of South Africa since such collaboration frustrates, inter alia, the objective of the Declaration on the Denuclearization of Africa adopted by the Organization of African Unity to keep Africa a nuclear-weapon-free zone;

4. Calls upon such States, corporations, institutions and individuals, therefore, to terminate forthwith such military and nuclear collaboration with the racist regime of South Africa, including the provision to it of such related materials as computers, electronic equipment and corresponding technology;

5. Requests the Security Council, in keeping with the recommendation of its Committee established by resolution 421(1977) concerning the question of South Africa, to prohibit all forms of co-operation and collaboration with the racist regime of South Africa in the nuclear field;

6. Demands that South Africa submit all its nuclear installations to inspection by the international Atomic Energy Agency;

7. Requests the Secretary-General to render all necessary assistance to the Organization of African Unity towards the realization of its solemn Declaration on the Denuclearization of Africa;

8. Decides to include in the provisional agenda of its thirty-seventh session the item entitled "Implementation of the Declaration on the Denuclearization of Africa".

Recorded vote in Assembly as follows:

In favour: Afghanistan, Albania, Algeria, Argentina, Australia, Austria, Bahamas, Bahrain, Bangladesh, Barbados, Belize, Benin, Bhutan, Bolivia, Brazil, Bulgaria, Burma, Burundi, Byelorussian SSR, Cape Verde, Central African Republic, Chad, China, Colombia, Comoros, Congo, Costa Rica, Cuba, Cyprus, Czechoslovakia, Democratic Kampuchea, Democratic Yemen, Denmark, Djibouti, Dominican Republic. Ecuador, Egypt, El Salvador, Equatorial Guinea, Ethiopia, Fiji, Finland, Gabon, Gambia, German Democratic Republic, Ghana, Greece, Grenada, Guinea, Guinea, Bisu, Guyana, Haiti, Honduras, Hungary, Iceland, India, Indonesia, Iran, Iraq, Ireland, Ivory Coast, Jamaica, Japan, Jordan, Kenya, Kuwait. Lao People's Democratic Republic, Lebanon, Lesotho, Liberia, Libyan Arab Jamahiriya, Madagascar, Malaysia. Maldives, Mali, Malta, Mauritania,