Disarmament 451

- 1. Recognizes the legitimate aspirations of all countries that have applied for membership to participate fully in the work of the Conference on Disarmament;
- 2. Calls upon the Conference on Disarmament to consider all remaining applications for membership with a view to reaching a decision on its further enlargement before the end of its 1997 session.

General Assembly resolution 51/47 A

10 December 1996 Meeting 79 171-0-2 (recorded vote)

Approved by First Committee (A/51/566/Add.13) by recorded vote (144-0-2), 15 November (meeting 24); 16-nation draft (A/C.1/51/L.1/Rev.1); agenda item 73 (b).

Meeting numbers. GA 51st session: 1st Committee 3-8, 10-14, 24; plenary 79.

Recorded vote in Assembly as follows:

In favour: Afghanistan, Albania, Algeria, Andorra, Angola, Antigua and Barbuda, Argentina, Armenia, Australia, Austria, Azerbaijan, Bahamas, Bahrain, Bangladesh, Barbados, Belarus, Belgium, Belize, Benin, Bhutan, Bolivia, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Botswana, Brazil, Brunei Darussalam, Bulgaria, Burkina Faso, Burundi, Cambodia, Cameroon, Canada, Cape Verde, Chad, Chile, China, Colombia, Congo, Costa Rica, Côte d'Ivoire, Croatia, Cuba, Cyprus, Czech Republic, Democratic People's Republic of Korea, Denmark, Djibouti, Dominica, Ecuador, Egypt, El Salvador, Equatorial Guinea, Eritrea, Estonia, Ethiopia, Fiji, Finland, France, Gabon, Gambia, Georgia, Germany, Ghana, Grenada, Guatemala, Guinea, Guinea-Bissau, Guyana, Haiti, Honduras, Hungary, Iceland, India, Indonesia, Iran, Ireland, Israel, Italy, Jamaica, Japan, Jordan, Kazakstan, Kenya, Kuwait, Kyrgyzstan, Lao People's Democratic Republic, Latvia, Lebanon, Lesotho, Liberia, Libyan Arab Jamahiriya, Liechtenstein, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Madagascar, Malawi, Malaysia, Maldives, Mali, Malta, Marshall Islands, Mauritius, Mexico, Micronesia, Monaco, Mongolia, Morocco, Mozambique, Myanmar, Namibia, Nepal, Netherlands, New Zealand, Nicaragua, Niger, Nigeria, Norway, Oman, Pakistan, Panama, Papua New Guinea, Paraguay, Peru, Philippines, Poland, Portugal, Qatar, Republic of Korea, Republic of Moldova, Romania, Russian Federation, Rwanda, Saint Kitts and Nevis, Saint Lucia, Saint Vincent and the Grenadines, Samoa, San Marino, Saudi Arabia, Senegal, Seychelles, Sierra Leone, Singapore, Slovakia, Slovenia, Solomon Islands, South Africa, Spain, Sri Lanka, Sudan, Suriname, Swaziland, Sweden, Syrian Arab Republic, Tajikistan, Thailand, the former Yugoslav Republic of Macedonia, Togo, Trinidad and Tobago, Tunisia, Uganda, Ukraine, United Arab Emirates, United Kingdom, United Republic of Tanzania, Uruguay, Uzbekistan, Vanuatu, Venezuela, Viet Nam, Yemen, Zambia, Zimbabwe.

Against: None. Abstaining: Turkey, United States.

Multilateral disarmament agreements

Parties and signatories

As at 31 December 1996, the following numbers of States had become parties to the multilateral agreements listed below (listed in chronological order, with the years in which they had been initially signed or opened for signature).

(Geneva) Protocol for the Prohibition of the Use in War of Asphyxiating, Poisonous or Other Gases, and of Bacteriological Methods of Warfare (1925): 131 parties

The Antarctic Treaty (1959): 43 parties

Treaty Banning Nuclear Weapon Tests in the Atmosphere, in Outer Space and under Water (1963): 124 parties

Treaty on Principles Governing the Activities of States in the Exploration and Use of Outer Space, including the Moon and Other Celestial Bodies (1967): 94 parties Treaty for the Prohibition of Nuclear Weapons in Latin America and the Caribbean (Treaty of Tlatelolco) (1967): 38 parties

Treaty on the Non-Proliferation of Nuclear Weapons (1968): 185 parties

Treaty on the Prohibition of the Emplacement of Nuclear Weapons and Other Weapons of Mass Destruction on the Seabed and the Ocean Floor and in the Subsoil Thereof (1971): 91 parties

Convention on the Prohibition of the Development, Production and Stockpiling of Bacteriological (Biological) and Toxin Weapons and on Their Destruction (1972): 139 parties

Convention on the Prohibition of Military or Any Other Hostile Use of Environmental Modification Techniques (1977): 64 parties

Agreement Governing the Activities of States on the Moon and Other Celestial Bodies (1979): 9 parties

Convention on Prohibitions or Restrictions on the Use of Certain Conventional Weapons Which May Be Deemed to Be Excessively Injurious or to Have Indiscriminate Effects (1981): 63 parties

South Pacific Nuclear Free Zone Treaty (Treaty of Rarotonga) (1985): 14 parties

Treaty on Conventional Armed Forces in Europe (1990): 30 parties

Treaty on Open Skies (1992): 22 parties

Convention on the Prohibition of the Development, Production, Stockpiling and Use of Chemical Weapons and on Their Destruction (1993): 67 parties

Treaty on the South-East Asia Nuclear-Weapon-Free Zone (Bangkok Treaty) (1995): 5 parties

African Nuclear-Weapon-Free Zone Treaty (Pelindaba Treaty) (1996): 2 parties

Comprehensive Nuclear-Test-Ban Treaty (1996): 1 party

Nuclear non-proliferation and disarmament

Comprehensive Nuclear-Test-Ban Treaty

The General Assembly on 10 September adopted a comprehensive nuclear-test-ban treaty (CTBT) by **resolution 50/245** (see below), culminating years of complex negotiations, many under the aegis of the United Nations.

The Treaty consists of a preamble, 17 articles and two annexes. By article I, each State party undertakes not to carry out any nuclear-weapon-test explosion or any other nuclear explosion, and to prohibit and prevent any such nuclear explosion at any place under its jurisdiction or control. Further, each party undertakes to refrain from caus-