THE SECURITY COUNCIL

The Security Council consists of 11 Members of the United Nations. Five are permanent members of the Council. The remaining six are non-permanent members, elected for two-year terms by the General Assembly.

MEMBERS IN 1964

Permanent Members: China, France, USSR, United Kingdom, United States.

Non-Permanent Members: Bolivia, Brazil, Czechoslovakia, Ivory Coast, Morocco, Norway.

(For representatives to the Council in 1964, see APPENDIX v.)

On 29 December 1964, the General Assembly, acting on a proposal by its President, agreed without objection that the Netherlands and Uruguay would each serve on the Council for a two-year term starting 1 January 1965 and ending 31 December 1966 and that Malaysia would complete the term of office of Czechoslovakia for a term ending 31 December 1965. (The Netherlands and Uruguay were to fill the vacancies that occurred when the terms of office of Brazil and Norway ended on 31 December 1963.)

On 30 December 1964, the Assembly agreed, without objection, that Jordan would fill the remaining vacancy on the Council for one year beginning 1 January 1965. (The vacancy arose because of the expiry of Morocco's term of office on 31 December 1964.) It was also announced by the Assembly's President, without objection, that for the second year, the seat would be occupied by Mali, on the understanding that, if the necessary ratifications of amendments to the United Nations Charter were forthcoming in the course of 1965 to enable the Security Council to be expanded, both Jordan and Mali would be enabled to occupy seats for the full term of two years.

MEMBERS FOR 1965

Permanent Members: China, France, USSR, United Kingdom, United States.

Non-Permanent Members: Bolivia, Ivory Coast, Jordan, Malaysia, Netherlands, Uruguay.

PRESIDENTS IN 1964

The Presidency of the Council rotates monthly, according to the English alphabet listing of its member States. The following served as Presidents during 1964:

Month	Member	Representative
January	Bolivia	Renan Castrillo Justiniano
February	Brazil	Carlos Alfredo Bernardes
March	China	Liu Chieh
April	Czechoslovakia	Jiri Hajek
May	France	Roger Seydoux
June	Ivory Coast	Arsène Assouan Usher
July	Morocco	Ahmed Taibi Benhima
August	Norway	Sivert A. Nielsen
September	USSR	N. T. Fedorenko

Month Member Representative
October United Kingdom Sir Patrick Dean
November United States December Bolivia Adlai E. Stevenson
Fernando Ortiz Sanz

MILITARY STAFF COMMITTEE

The Military Staff Committee met fortnightly throughout 1964. The first meeting of the year was held on 9 January 1964 and the last on 23 December 1964

China. Army Representative: Lieutenant-Général Lu Fu-ning (until 1 September 1964). Navy Representative: Rear-Admiral Chang Hsiang-chi (until 1 November 1964), Rear-Admiral Yuan-chung Yang (from 1 November 1964). Air Force Representative: General Wang Shu-ming.

France. Army Representative: Général de Brigade J. Compagnon. Navy Representative: Contre Amiral Michel Prache (until 1 September 1964), Capitaine de Corvette Henri Roulleaux-Dugage (from 11 September 1964). Air Force Representative: Général de Division aérienne Michel Dorance (until 1 September 1964), Colonel Maurice Boileau (from 1 September 1964).

USSR. Army Representative: Colonel A. G. Mantrov (until 2 June 1964), Major-General V. V. Zadvinsky (from 2 June 1964). Navy Representative: Vice-Admiral L. K. Bekrenev (until 3 February 1964), Captain A. R. Astafiev (from 3 February 1964). Air Force Representative: Major-General A. N. Chizhov.

United Kingdom. Army Representative: Major-General R. E. T. St. John. Navy Representative: Rear-Admiral J. F. D. Bush. Air Force Representative: Air Vice-Marshal Ian G. Esplin.

United States. Army Representative: Lieutenant-Général R. W. Porter, Jr. Navy Representative: Vice-Admiral H. T. Deutermann. Air Force Representative: Lieutenant-Général Edward H. Underhill (until 1 August 1964), Lieutenant-Général William H. Blanchard (from 1 August 1964).

DISARMAMENT COMMISSION

The Commission reports to both the General Assembly and the Security Council. (See above, under THE GENERAL ASSEMBLY.)

COLLECTIVE MEASURES COMMITTEE

The Committee reports to both the General Assembly and the Security Council. (See above, under THE GENERAL ASSEMBLY.)

STANDING COMMITTEES

There are two standing committees: the Committee of Experts (established in 1946, to examine the provisional rules of procedure of the Council and any other matters entrusted to it by the Security Council); and the Committee on the Admission of New Members. Each is composed of representatives of all Council members.