766 Appendix I

(Footnotes—continued from preceding page)

The People's Republic of the Congo changed its name to the Congo (People's Republic of) on 15 November 1971.

Egypt and Syria, both of which became Members of the United Nations on 24 October 1945, joined together—following a plebiscite held in those countries on 21 February 1958—to form the United Arab Republic. On 13 October 1961, Syria, having resumed its status as an independent State, also resumed its separate membership in the United Nations, and the United Arab Republic continued as a Member of the United Nations.

The United Arab Republic changed its name to the Arab Republic of Egypt on 2 September 1971.

In a letter dated 20 January 1965, Indonesia informed the Secretary-General that it had decided "at this stage and under the present circumstances" to withdraw from the United Nations. In a telegram dated 19 September 1966, Indonesia notified the Secretary-General of its decision "to resume full co-operation with the United Nations and to resume participation in its activities starting with the twenty-first session of the General Assembly." On 28 September 1966, the General Assembly took note of the decision of the Government of Indonesia and the President invited the representatives of that country to take their seats in the Assembly.

<sup>5</sup> On 16 September 1963, Sabah (North Borneo), Sarawak and Singapore joined with the Federation of Malaya (which became a United Nations Member on 17 September 1957) to form Malaysia. On 9 August 1965, Singapore became an independent State, and on 21 September 1965 it became a Member of the United Nations.

<sup>6</sup> Tanganyika was a Member of the United Nations from 14 December 1961, and Zanzibar was a Member from 16 December 1963. Following the ratification, on 26 April 1964, of Articles of Union between Tanganyika and Zanzibar, the United Republic of Tanganyika and Zanzibar continued as a single Member of the United Nations; on 1 November 1964, it changed its name to the United Republic of Tanzania.

The Democratic Republic of the Congo changed its name to the Republic of Zaire on 27 October 1971.