The Structure of the United Nations

NOTE: Several United Nations Member States changed their official names in 1971. This altered their order of placement in alphabetical listings. The Members of United Nations bodies are given in this Appendix in the English alphabetical order of their names as registered with the Organization at 31 December 1971.

Therefore, those Members that changed their names during the year are listed under their new names, even though meetings of the bodies in which they participated might have been held prior to the changes in their names. For the countries concerned, see Appendix I.

The General Assembly

The General Assembly is composed of all the Members of the United Nations.

Sessions In 1971

Twenty-sixth Session: 21 September-22 December 1971.

Officers

President, Twenty-sixth Session: Adam Malik (Indonesia). Vice-Presidents, Twenty-sixth Session: Belgium, Burundi, China, Costa Rica, France, Greece, Hungary, Japan, People's Democratic Republic of Yemen, Peru, Sierra Leone, Sudan, USSR, United Kingdom, United States, Venezuela, Zambia.

The Assembly has four types of committees: (1) Main Committees; (2) procedural committees; (3) standing committees; (4) subsidiary and ad hoc bodies.

Main Committees

Seven Main Committees have been established under the rules of procedure of the General Assembly, as follows:

Political and Security Committee (including the regulation of armaments) (First Committee)

Special Political Committee

Economic and Financial Committee (Second Committee)
Social, Humanitarian and Cultural Committee (Third Committee)
Trusteeship Committee (including Non-Self-Governing Territories)
(Fourth Committee)

Administrative and Budgetary Committee (Fifth Committee) Legal Committee (Sixth Committee)

In addition to these seven Main Committees, the General Assembly may constitute other committees, on which all Members have the right to be represented.

Officers of the Main Committees, Twenty-sixth Session

Chairman: Milko Tarabanov (Bulgaria). Vice-Chairman: Radha Ramphul (Mauritius). Rapporteur: Giovanni Migliuolo (Italy).

SPECIAL POLITICAL COMMITTEE Chairman: Cornelius C. Cremin (Ireland). Vice-Chairman: V. S. Smirnov (Byelorussian SSR). Rapporteur: Parviz Mohajer (Iran).

SECOND COMMITTEE
Chairman: Narciso G. Reyes (Philippines).
Vice-Chairman: Bernardo de Azevedo Brito (Brazil).
Rapporteur: Salih Mohamed Osman (Sudan).

THIRD COMMITTEE Chairman: Mrs. Helvi Sipila (Finland). Vice-Chairman: Yahya Mahmassani (Lebanon). Rapporteur: Amre M. Moussa (Egypt).

FOURTH COMMITTEE

Chairman: Keith Johnson (Jamaica). Vice-Chairman: Mrs. Brita Śkottsberg-Ahman (Sweden). Rapporteur: Yilma Tadesse (Ethiopia).

FIFTH COMMITTEE

Chairman: E. Olu Sanu (Nigeria). Vice-Chairman: Gregor Woschnagg (Austria). Rapporteur: Babooram Rambissoon (Trinidad and Tobago).

SIXTH COMMITTEE

Chairman: Zenon Rossides (Cyprus). Vice-Chairman: Duke E. Pollard (Guyana). Rapporteur: Alfons Klafkowski (Poland).

Procedural committees

There are two procedural committees of the Assembly: the General Committee and the Credentials Committee.

GENERAL COMMITTEE

The General Committee consists of the President of the General Assembly, as Chairman, the 17 Vice-Presidents and the Chairmen of the seven Main Committees.

CREDENTIALS COMMITTEE

The Credentials Committee consists of nine members appointed by the General Assembly on the proposal of the President.

Twenty-sixth Session

Austrália, Colombia, France, Ireland (Chairman), Liberia, Mongolia, Somalia, USSR, United States.

Standing committees

The General Assembly has two standing committees: the Advisory Committee on Administrative and Budgetary Questions and the Committee on Contributions. Each consists of experts appointed in their individual capacities for a three-year term.

ADVISORY COMMITTEE ON ADMINISTRATIVE AND BUDGETARY QUESTIONS

Members in 1971:

To serve until 31 December 1971: Mohamed Alwan (Iraq);* Mohsen S. Esfandiary (Iran); André Naudy (France); John I. M. Rhodes, Chairman (United Kingdom).

To serve until 31 December 1972: Albert F. Bender, Jr. (United States); Mario Majoli (Italy); V. K. Palamarchuk (USSR); José Piñera (Chile).